Is Etsy a good idea for a small business first step?

Last year I started a small business and developed a wordpress (dot org, NOT dot com) website on my own, without any prior knowledge or training. I quickly got overwhelmed, frustrated, and disappointed. I WAS able to get a website up and running, but it is lacking in many areas, and I haven't been able to get good traffic to it (at most, I'll get 12 views in a day, but the average is about 2…). So I walked away from it for a bit. Now I'm ready to get back into it. However, I don't want to get overwhelmed or disappointed again.

What can I do (with minimal knowledge/experience) to get my small business (pet based) off the ground without overwhelming myself? I am considering just doing an Etsy store – because then everything is basically done for me by the site.

Does anyone have any experience with Etsy? Any comments or suggestions? Is there something better that I should start with instead?

Thanks for any help!

Leave a Reply

