In the absence of legal advice, I don’t know if I should start an LLC or stay a sole proprietor.

I'm in very unfamiliar territory here but I have no choice but to get my own thing off the ground now. I would really appreciate any advice.

I intend to teach music lessons at a studio which I already rent, but I want to hire 2 additional teachers as employees, not contractors as is the norm. Ultimately, I'd like to expand and hire enough teachers to free me up to engage in other revenue streams, like recording, production, and selling jam tracks / teaching resources online.

Is an LLC the way to go? If so, does that commit me to hiring an accountant or legal help every year, or could I get by learning the legal/tax stuff on my own via the internet? I'm comfortable with doing my own homework so any sites or info I could pointed to would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

