Need to be sure: is it rude to ask a business owner for their financials before buying?

I posted before but think this needed its own post. I am interested in buying a business and wanted to see if I could get the financial records before buying. The owner did talk to his "people" (he's foreign, I'm guessing the person that does his books) and was concerned that for the price he was asking that he could just sell his business so his family could move out of state and be done with it. He went as far as telling me that if I wanted to go that route, that he would expect a down payment (price he is selling) and would sell the business for 3x the original asking price.

TL;DR: was I out of line asking a business owner for his financial records? because now he wants 3x original asking price for me to see them.

Leave a Reply

