Starting a Judo Dojo

Finally, after years of being a hesitant Harry, I've decided to take the leap to start my own business. I'm a Judo black belt (shodan) and a national competitor for about 8 years. I have 10 years of wrestling experience at the high school, Junior College, and NCAA Division 1 level. Currently, I've agreed to coach alongside my sensei for an hourly rate and then run my own class for a percentage. My immediate goal is to figure out a fair hourly wage to be paid ($20/hour?) and a fair percentage breakdown (80-20?). Further down the line, I'd like to start my own business and am wondering what specific business license I would apply for. I heard there are tax write offs you can do for materials counting towards your business so I'm wondering if i should just start now.
Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

