Is it better to start a very specialized business or a general one? (crosspost from /r/entrepreneur)

To be more specific, I am a longtime translator and am working towards opening my own agency to outsource to other freelancers. I personally specialize in a niche field (legal translations) and am wondering if it is more pertinent to keep that specialization going when I open shop. Is it easier to attract clients if your industry is more niche? Or in my case, would it be easier to target clients for translations of all stripes?

Leave a Reply

