Vat number now received, possible to reissue invoice

I've recently received my UK VAT number. Shortly before receiving it, I received an invoice from one of our partner firms (software company) for a software integration fee. The work has yet to start. The invoice I received from them includes VAT on it. Rather than haing to pay inc VAT and then claim back (affecting cashflow) can I just ask the partner company to reissue the invoice excluding VAT? Is this a normal way to invoice – take a company's VAT number and issue invoice excluding VAT?

Leave a Reply

