Hiring Felons?

A post on my front page made me think of this. What is the opinion of /r/smallbusiness on hiring ex-cons? Any experiences? Any stories, good or bad? Any hoops you have to jump through?

While my business is interviewing for our second employee, I'm not currently considering anyone with a record. That being said, we work with dogs; and animal work tends to be very rewarding and therapeutic for people down on their luck. Plus, an ex-felon as an employee can be quite loyal simply for having been given a job. Just off the cuff, I think I'd eliminate prospects with charges of theft for sure, probably violent ones as well. What have you all had experience with? If you don't hire ex-felons, what's your reasoning?

Leave a Reply

