I need to vent about my worst day ever.

So, today was the 1 year anniversary of my first gig in my business. In the last year I've gone from setting up borrowed marquee with a cotton candy machine at a market to running a small trailer selling bubble tea and cotton candy.

Today was day one of a three day event, and what is supposed to be my biggest event so far and also most expensive. It's our town's annual show/fair. It's usually a big earner for vendors.

It rained. It rained all fucking day.

After working 16 hours, most of it standing around doing nothing, I've come home with about 10% of what it cost me to have a stall at the event.

I've had events go bad before, more than once. I know it happens, but I've put so much work and effort in to prepare for this one. It was supposed to be my biggest. I was supposed to still do "ok" even with the rain. I feel so frustrated. Now I have to go to bed and get up tomorrow and do it all over again.

The rain still hasn't stopped. I don't know how I feel. I don't know what to expect tomorrow. I think right now, I feel annoyed, and frustrated, and a bit scared tomorrow is going to suck just as badly. If I can't at least break even it is going to hurt. It's a hurt I can't really afford right now. I can deal, it isn't going to break me, but it would mean that I'm probably going to have to turn down some of the other events I've applied for in the coming months.

I've worked my arse off this last year. I've put every cent I've earned in the business back into the business to grow it (I still work a day job during the week). With this event, I thought I was about to hit the tipping point where I could actually make some money from it. The trailer is almost finished (I bought it 2nd hand in a usable condition and have been fixing it up on weeknights between events on the weekend), I just bought a generator. This event was supposed to make enough to get everything finished, and then I could start making some money for myself and I worked all day for less than nothing.

Now I am going to bed, and I get to do it all again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

