Custom clothing / embroidery help

Me and a few of my friends created a "business" if you even want to call it that. Anyways, we were thinking of creating some type of clothing because we all have some friends and family that said they'd buy it and we have somewhat of a following on social media so that would help as well.

We aren't thinking we are going to hit huge success, at least not immediately. But the problem is we're mostly all in high school and don't really have enough funds to drop a few hundred on bulk sales for something that we haven't even started selling yet.

I've looked into some websites like apliiq which will make it and help sell risk free but it would take around 4 weeks to get the product out and not all sales are final. We're looking for some custom embroidery that we can buy for low price, but also not have to buy ~150 at a time.

My friend that has started this with me currently works at a clothing store that has a custom embroidery machine that we may be able to use, so I feel like that would help with cost a bit but might take way to long to work out the logistics of it considering it's not ours.

I've checked out places like printful which don't have a minimum amount but it leaves very little room for profit because they sell hats at around $15 each. So if anyone has experience with this at least just starting up let me know. I know we're very limited because we're all in high school but we're just trying to do this on the side and see if it takes off.

On the other hand, if anyone has some advice for a high schooler just emerging into the business world I'm all ears. I've taken a business class so far and I'm going to take 1 more then hopefully get my degree in Business Administration so I feel like that will help later on. Also I'm not sensitive so if this is a stupid idea or we're being dumb let me know! I'm open to all criticism harsh or not.

(Not sure if this is the right sub for this, if not let me know and I'll post it somewhere else)

Thanks

Leave a Reply

