Need some direction with life.

Hi all.

I'll keep this as short as I can. My current situation has me working full time, 8-5, m-f. My current job is a government, unionized, office-type job. Good benefits (health, dental, 457, etc). I earn approximately $14-16 per hour and take home approximately $1,500 per month after deductions for taxes, benefits, etc.

All that being said, I am very unhappy with my job. I'd love to start my own business, however I can't afford to not be earning that money right away, as I have a family to provide for (wife works part-time, though is trying to find a full-time job), as well as a home and other bills to pay.

Additionally, I have no college degree, though have attended. Because of this I'm not qualified for pretty much anything that pays as much as my current job and I can't see myself going back to school, I just don't perform well in school, never have.

I should also probably say I'm not interested in starting a dropshipping, t-shirt, or other ecommerce-type businesses. I do have some business ideas in mind that I think are okay, but I'm afraid that where I live just isn't large enough to sustain any sort of new business that isn't some sort of chain store.

I don't know where to go from here and was hoping that someone here may have been in the same or similar position to me at one time or another and might be able to provide some guidance.

Leave a Reply

