Purchasing Truck for Work through LLC

I am looking at buying a used truck (around $8-12k) with cash. Leasing a new truck is always an option if that's better for my situation.

I will be using the truck for 90-95% business and 5-10% personal. This will be my only vehicle. I do commercial roofing in TX. My LLC will make about $50-60k/yr and will be the only income I will earn.

Basically, I am wondering if it would be better for me to buy the truck personally and write off miles used for business or buy the truck through my LLC. Would using a standard mileage deduction work the same in both situations? If so, what is the benefit of getting the truck under my LLC? What is the best way to maximize my tax write-offs?

Leave a Reply

