Opportunity to buy the tow company I work for.

Not sure if this is the right sub but here goes.

As stated in the title I have an opportunity to purchase the tow yard I currently work for. The company has been around since the early 80s and has about 30 employees. Good local reputation and multiple lengthy contracts with road side service providers (Honk, AAA, Good Sam) as well as local police impound contracts. the owners haven't let me look at the books just yet but wanted to know if I would be interested and wanted to give me first rights to it as they are gearing up to sell the business in the next year or so.

Now my questions are, what should I be looking for when I see the books? What kind of red flags or nuances should I be aware of? Who should I get a business valuation from? In these early stages what can I do on my end to make it easier on myself as far as preparedness in the paperwork/getting the bank or an investor to give me oodles of money?

Any and all help or insight is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

