Determining the value of my business

I was recently approached by an investment firm wanting to buy my business. They will want to keep me on with maybe a small percentage of ownership and a salary. How would I go about determining the value?

We are in our 4th year, did 30k the first year with a loss, 300k the second with a loss, 600k last year with a profit of 120k. We are on track to do a bit over a million this year, with 510k so far. I expect 400k ish profit for the year. Profit margins are bigger as we reinvested a lot of the first years in to equipment.

Is there a certain way to determine the value? We have about 130k of low interest debt and 375k worth of equipment.

Thanks for any help!

Leave a Reply

