I don’t want to be in charge anymore.

I own a small gym with my brother. He is the majority owner, and holds the role as primary financial backing/online marketing/general behind the scenes stuff.

I act as general manager/feet on the ground duties.

This process started in February of 2016, but we are 8 months into our doors being open. Things are growing rapidly. We just broke even two months ago for the first time – in the Summer no less!

Unfortunately I had a mental breakdown over the weekend. I cried for 2 days straight and was feeling lower than I had in a long time. I feel like it was a mistake for me to be involved with this for one reason: I don't want to be in charge.

Sad that it took going into business and debt for the first time to realize this. With my family, no less.

I love what I do at the core of it. Fitness is the only thing that consistently makes me happy. Seeing people reach their fitness goals is awesome. It's because of this that I think my role should be as lead trainer and that someone else more suited for this position should be GM.

However, I think I can be impulsive at times. Owning a business is hard work. There have been a lot of benefits, but at the end of the day, I feel like I want to clock out and go on with my life without being bothered.

As it stands, I'm always getting calls and emails. My list never ends. I used to be very organized but this is a lot more than I was ready for – I'm losing it. My brother has all of these success gurus and advice that he keeps telling me and I've not been able to follow through. I'm not usually like this.

I know all of these things are probably typical of someone starting a new business, but I feel like this might be my brain screaming at me that I'm not right for this.

I don't want to let my brother down, but a huge part of me thinks I was chasing this dream of ultimate success and that meant owning a business. I feel wrong.

Any advice or insight would be great.

TL;DR: own small gym with my brother, had a breakdown over the weekend and came to a realization that I do not like being in charge.

Leave a Reply

