Incorporated a C-Corp in New York. Wish I had made an LLC instead.

I incorporated a C-Corp in February 2017, I made the mistake of not making an LLC instead. New York state does not allow conversions, only mergers. So the only way to convert to an LLC would be to create another LLC, merge the C-Corp and have the LLC be the surviving entity. The thing is that the C-Corp has had transactions of about ~$10,000 so far this year. Will I still need to pay corporation taxes if I merge/convert to LLC? Would doing an S-Corp 2553 election be better? There are no employees except myself. Feeling over my head right now. I wanted to separate my contracted work from my personal items. I do mainly bookkeeping and IT stuff.

Leave a Reply

