First time international sale — need help!

I run a small business (in USA) selling my handmade body care products. I have limited my sales to the US to avoid the confusion of international duties/shipping/etc until I have more time and support. However, I have been emailing with a prospective wholesale buyer in The Netherlands who reached out to me via my website.

My initial response was that I currently don't sell/ship internationally, but would keep them informed when I am equipped to do so. Person replies that I don't need to worry about the international details.

This person writes: "I want you to know that you don't need to worry about the shipping of my order. I have a freight forwarder that will come for the pick-up from your location, after I have placed the order and make the payment. They will handle the Insurance Charges, Custom Duties and other charges."

I am skeptical, only because this is uncharted territory for me and I really don't know what I should be looking out for. I would love to get my products out to new places, but I also want to make sure this is legitimate.

Does this seem like a standard procedure? How do I follow through with this order making sure I am not left with a huge bill for duties/etc? Any other suggestions, advice, and resources much appreciated!!

Leave a Reply

