Starting small as an automotive photo vendor

I've been working in a large Chevy dealership for three years. I started as an inventory photographer and have moved into a used car manager role.

Cameras are fun and my current job isn't, so I'm thinking of taking a shot at becoming an independent vendor taking photos for smaller dealerships.

We have several of these "vendors" who do various things at our dealership now, from dents to interior repair. They're just guys who come around in vans, work for a couple of hours, and drop off an invoice.

Most dealers have really bad inventory photography and I see an opportunity.

I'd like to start soon, charging $20-25 a car just working on weekends. Eventually I would like to leave my current job, have a couple of employees under me, and take on some larger dealerships.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

