S-Corp Self Pay Question

Hello all, I run a small web design agency that was founded as a S Corporation and from what I understand I am required by law to pay myself a reasonable wage. The thing is, I don't always make enough to pay myself a continuous pay check. Some months I may not have clients so I cannot pay myself.

So how am I supposed to pay myself that "reasonable salary" if I don't have enough money for that month? If my profit isn't sufficient to pay a salary can I still pay myself with owner's draws without getting into trouble with the IRS? Thanks for the help!

P.S: Not sure if there is a better sub to post this under, let me know if I need to delete it! Also I tried searching through the reddit search and Google but neither addressed my specific questions only the fact that a wage must be paid.

Leave a Reply

