[X-post /r/bookkeeping] Recently took over as autoshop secretary

So I recently (as in this Monday) started working as my grandfather's secretary for his mechanic shop. His old secretary worked for him for 20+ years. She did all of the book keeping, phone calls, etc. She recently fell ill and is now deciding to retire. She has been into work a couple of times in the past few months, but has mainly been working from home, which she has told me has been challenging. I have taken a few business classes at community college and I am a quick learner, so I feel extremely excited to do this! The problem is I am having trouble finding where to start. I feel like once I know what to be doing I will be just fine on my own. The first day I was on my own with some of my grandfather's help, but she was in yesterday to help train me a little. I have been organizing customer invoices for the month of July and adding up the totals for each day. She taught me how to log the invoices in her book, how our filing system is organized, and how I'm supposed to make copy's of statements and their check before mailing them to pay the bills. Everything else she went over is a total blur. Stuff about taxes, the daily, the weekly, the monthly, receipts, etc is making my head spin. I'm not even sure what I'm supposed to do before I can file this pile of invoices from parts we have bought. My grandfather is not the best at keeping track of things when she's gone so there's a lot of catching up to-do as well. If anyone has any advice for me that would be great. I am well aware there are things specific to this office that you can't give me advice on, but anything is better than nothing. I can provide links to examples of the logs she has if that would help. The shop is also located in WA state if that makes a difference. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

